Lopezlink, a monthly publication of the Lopez Group of Companies

16 semifinalists emerge on LAA’s 16th year

Jamie Lopez (3rd from right) served as chair of the screening committee for the Customer Focus and Corporate Image-Building categoriesJamie Lopez (3rd from right) served as chair of the screening committee for the Customer Focus and Corporate Image-Building categoriesAfter the first round of rigorous assessment of the nominations to the Lopez Achievement Awards (LAA) 2018 by the different screening committees for every category, 16 semifinalists have emerged from the 34 nominations across the six categories of the LAA.

The six categories are Customer Focus, Business Management, HR Focus, Operations Management, Corporate Image Building and Public Responsibility. Coincidentally, this year is also the 16th year of the LAA program.

The LAA 2018 semifinalists

The three LAA 2018 semifinalists for the Customer Focus category include “McDonald’s BonFries 2017: Transforming Digital Into an Online Arena for UAAP Cheerdance Competition Fans” by the DMD Operations of ABS-CBN Corporation; “Moonchasers.ph: Mastering TV-Digital Integration to Create an Immersive Fan Experience” by the DMD Operations of ABS-CBN; and “TrabaHanap: A Broadcast Service That Empowers and Educates Marginalized Demographics Through Movies’ End Credits” by the Cinemo TrabaHanap Team of ABS-CBN.

For the Business Management category, the three semifinalists are “Asia’s Largest Voluntary Tender Offer in the Power Sector: The Entry of Macquarie and the Government of Singapore (“GIC”) Into Energy Development Corporation (EDC)” by the Project Terra Team of First Gen Corporation; “Mitigating Losses Through the ASPA Market: First Geothermal Facility to Successfully Implement Regulating Reserve Ancillary Services in the Philippine Power Market” by the NIGBU ASPA Team of EDC; and “ABS-CBN’s Unilever Story Studio: The Partnership That Pays Off” by the Dream Team of ABS-CBN.

The achievement of the sole nominee for the HR Focus category, “All for One, All in One: The Unified CBA Story of EDC Reborn” by the 2018 EDC Unified CBA Negotiation Team, also made the semifinals.

For the Operations Management category, the three semifinalists are “No Delays: Improving the Relief Operations by Tapping Local Suppliers and Private Partnerships” by Operation Sagip of ABS-CBN Lingkod Kapamilya Foundation Inc. (ALKFI); “Turbo Boost for Santa Rita and San Lorenzo” by the First Gas O&M Team of First Gas Power Corporation; “Incredible Resilience: EDC LGBU’s Return to Service After a 6.5Magnitude Earthquake” by the Leyte Geothermal Business Unit (LGBU) Return-To-Service Team of EDC.

For the Public Responsibility category, the six semifinalists include “Beans of Hope: From Kaingeros to Green Warriors” by the NIGBU-CREW of EDC; “Kwento ng Pagbangon: The Transformation of Sabang Daguitan Surf Camp” by Bantay Kalikasan in Sabang Daguitan, Leyte; “Bantay Bata 163: The Hope at the End of the Line” by Bantay Bata 163 of ALKFI; “Swift Recovery of First Gen Clean Energy Complex (FGCEC) from the April 2017 Earthquake Incident” by the FGCEC Earthquake Recovery Team of First Gen Corporation; “DocuCentral: Chasing the Truth in the Midst of War” by the ABS-CBN DocuCentral Team; and“Pamana ng Mina”by the Failon Ngayon Team of ABS-CBN.

The next round of the assessment was the question and answer and judging sessions by the panel of judges on August 28 and September 6.

The panel will determine the finalists that will be endorsed to the Lopez Group executive committee comprised of Lopez Group chairman emeritus Oscar M. Lopez, Lopez Holdings chairman Manuel M. Lopez, ABS-CBN chairman emeritus Eugenio Lopez III, First Philippine Holdings Corporation (FPH) chairman Federico R. Lopez, Lopez Holdings Corporation president Salvador G. Tirona and FPH president Francis Giles Puno. The excom will declare the LAA 2018 winners. The Lopez Group excom deliberation will be on September 13.

Feedback from nominators, nominees

For Jing Castañeda-Velasco, program director of ALKFI’s Bantay Bata 163, one of the best parts of her experience as a nominee was “explaining our nomination to the panel as this reinforced even more how much I believe in our program.”

Val Dy-Sun, vice president for Finance at First Gen, said the most challenging part of being a nominator was “presenting properly the merits of our achievement in accordance with the Lopez Values.”

Said nominee Norman Samonte, senior manager for Business Services Group, NIGBU, EDC: “The LAA is a wonderful venue to showcase the various achievements of the group. It effectively inspires our fellow Kapamilya to dream big and reach for their goals.”

Feedback from screening committees

Jamie Lopez IV, Customer Engineering and Managed Services head of SKY Cable and chair of the screening committees for Customer Focus and Corporate Image Building categories, and a Lopez family representative, recommended for LAA to come up with an Innovation category in the future. He also believes that “it provides a great sense of pride to be nominated and to win an LAA and that it works as a form of recognition.”

Said Dan Lopez Layug, founder of PeoplePods (provider of safe, clean and affordable communities for workers), screening committee member for the Business Management and HR Focus categories, and a Lopez family representative: “I was impressed by the creativity of the business model innovations and the grit of the nominees. Thank you to all who are contributing to strengthening the Lopez Values. Projects such as these capture the essence of the entrepreneurial spirit and passion that will drive the Lopez Group into the future.”

Elaine Uy-Casipit, OIC for the Digital Media Division of ABS-CBN, considers “being able to learn from other businesses and appreciate the hard work of everyone in the Lopez Group” among the best parts of her experience as a first-time screening committee member.

For Jehan Dayrit, VP for Enterprise Risk Management of First Gen and a screening committee member, the strongest points of the LAA are its being “strongly supported by the Lopez family; recognizing the exemplary projects and achievements and a great ego booster for the participating teams.”

Who will be this year’s winners? Watch for the recognition of the LAA 2018 winners at Studio 10 of ABS-CBN on October 10. The winners of the Unsung Hero Award and the Lifetime Achievement Awards will also be recognized during the awarding ceremonies. (Story/Photos by: Ross Hamo Jr.)

The screening committee members gather for a briefingThe screening committee members gather for a briefing


Dan Lopez Layug, CFA (rightmost) with the other members of the screening committee for Business Management and HR FocusDan Lopez Layug, CFA (rightmost) with the other members of the screening committee for Business Management and HR Focus