Lopezlink, a monthly publication of the Lopez Group of Companies

First Balfour hosts 50th anniversary football cup

The winning teams with First Balfour executives Anthony L. Fernandez and Macky de Lima and other officialsThe winning teams with First Balfour executives Anthony L. Fernandez and Macky de Lima and other officialsAs part of the yearlong celebration of its 50th anniversary, First Balfour hosted its first football competition at SPARTA, Mandaluyong on March 16, 2019. Seven teams from various Lopez Group companies and First Balfour partners competed in the tournament.

Rockwell FC emerged as the champion, followed by NovaBala FC in second place and ABS-CBN Kapamilya Utd in third. Other teams included CLJV FC, EDC Premier FC, EDCFG United FC and GHD FC.

Javier Bonoan from Rockwell FC was named Most Valuable Player of the tournament after leading his team to the top spot.

Finals rematch

Rockwell FC and NovaBala FC previously clashed in 2018 during the finals match of the Enerhiya Cup organized by Energy Development Corporation (EDC), where NovaBala FC claimed the championship and Rockwell FC settled for second place.

This time, Rockwell FC got back on the winning track to claim the finals match with 1-0 against NovaBala FC.

ABS-CBN Kapamilya Utd, on the other hand, clinched a podium finish by dominating the free kick round against CLJV FC after their match ended in a draw.

Love for football

Men and women, millennials and “non-millennials” as well as players coming from places as far as Europe joined the match, a testament to how football is a well-loved sport in the Philippines.

In his opening speech, First Balfour president Anthony L. Fernandez bared plans to organize the football match yearly to build up partnerships across companies and industries—the primary aim of this year’s tournament.

First Balfour also thanked the teams representing ABSCBN, Cebu Link Joint Venture, EDC, First Gen, GHD Philippines, NovaBala Joint Venture and Rockwell Land for taking part in the football cup. (Story/Photos by: Jemecho Torayno)